13th December

Advent Calendar Banner Desktop 1 300x45 - 13th December

The coin behind door thirteen is the West African 10 Francs.

The West African Franc is issued by the Central Bank of the West African States, and is used by eight independent states: Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Senegal, Togo.

West African States Coin 300x208 - 13th December

West African 10 Francs

The West African Franc is known as CFA, which is an acronym for “Communauté Financière d’Afrique”, which translates as “Financial Community of Africa”.

The obverse of the Western Africa 10 Francs features the denomination with a taku – ashanti gold weight in the middle. A taku is a unit of mass used for weighing and valuing gold. The words around the edge, “BANQUE CENTRALE ETATS DE L’AFRIQUE DE L’OUEST”, translate as “Central Bank of the West African States”.

The reverse features two women and a child pumping water, and the date.

The West African States is mainly French speaking.

Advent Blog Image 23 - 13th December